Black Bean Burgers

Hello! It has been awhile but I have been dying to share this recipe for black bean burgers with you for the past few weeks! In just a few weeks I have made these multiple times – and neither my husband nor I had ever had a veggie burger before this!

Something about this recipe just called to me and they looked absolutely delicious so I knew I had to try them at least once. It is also really difficult for me to get a lot of fruits and veggies into my diet due to my colitis, especially in their whole form, but because everything is ground up fine in this recipe it seemed like a potential option to sneak in some extra veggies!

I followed the recipe exactly for ingredients but where I veered off was the process. The first time I made these I found that no matter I did, no matter how much panko I added, and no matter how much cooking spray I used on my hands I just could not get the burgers to stick together immediately after blending the way the recipe author outlines.

What I DID get to work was to follow the recipe through blending in the food processor. Once blended I put the entire mixture still in the food processor into the refrigerator to chill (you could remove and put in a separate bowl, covered with plastic wrap if you wanted.) I leave it chilling for at least a few hours. Then, I take it out and form the patties by using a metal 1/3 cup measuring cup coated with cooking spray – I spray the cup, scoop, empty the cup directly into the panko to coat the first side, and flip with a spatula to coat the second side. I also do a second round of chilling – I put a piece of plastic wrap coated with cooking spray on the bottom of my container to prevent sticking, put the patties in my container, and cover with another layer of plastic wrap coated in cooking spray to prevent drying out and sticking (if I have another layer of patties on top of the other.) I have chilled the patties at this stage overnight both times but they do seem pretty sturdy after the first round of chilling so you could probably bake them at this point or get away with only chilling for another hour or so.

I also found a difference in cooking time from the recipe (probably from the extra chilling.) I have only done these in the oven – I tried to pan-fry the first two I ever made and could tell there was no way that was working for me if I wanted the burgers to stay together. I find my oven needs to be at a minimum of 450 but I have gone up to as high as 500 with these when they aren’t browning. I coat a baking sheet with cooking spray and bake these until each side is a deep brown – it takes at least 10 minutes per side and depends how hot I have put my oven so you just need to keep an eye on them. When I feel they are brown enough I top each with a slice of cheese (I’ve used American and Sharp Cheddar – I’d recommend the cheddar!) and leave them just until the cheese is melted.

These come out deliciously toasty and aromatic from the cumin. I usually top mine with sliced avocado, a dollop of sour cream, and an extra squeeze of lime – no bun. My husband likes his with salsa and extra red onion – sometimes on a bun, sometimes not.

I’ve made a double recipe of these and got 8 patties, with a single recipe I was able to get 5 patties. I was excited to eat these as leftovers since they were so good but they don’t reheat that well – they don’t heat through in a pan without burning the outside and the microwave dries them out a bit. I may try microwaving with a cup of water in with them the next time and see if that helps.

We loved these so much that I was inspired to create my own recipe using chickpeas and different spices, fillings, and toppings. These came out great also so stay tuned for that recipe post!

blackbean_1

Leave a Reply

