Glazed Apple Hand Pies

Happy Fall! The cool Autumn weather is upon us and that means one thing – APPLES! In classic New England style, my family hits the orchards every year and brings home bags and bags of apples…even though I can’t eat raw apples and my husband isn’t a huge apple eater. But I refuse to miss out on one of my favorite fall activities and that means I need to find something to do with all those apples. Of course there is the traditional apple pie and apple cobbler (maybe if you’re lucky I’ll share my [grandmother’s] apple cobbler recipe in a post soon,) and in the past I’ve made these caramel apple cookie cups that were delicious, but I wanted something new this year. So I hit Pinterest and found these glazed apple hand pies that looked delicious and sounded easy enough.

I, obviously, didn’t buy pre-packaged apples like the writer did and instead used fresh-picked Macintosh apples. Due to this year’s drought in the area, the apples were much smaller than usual so I needed about 4 apples to get enough filling. I also skipped the nutmeg – if you’ve read my blog before you might know I HATE nutmeg and have had it ruin recipes in the past for me so, in order for me to actually be able to eat and enjoy these, I left it out.

I don’t own a biscuit cutter so I used the rim of a drinking glass. The glass was a little smaller than the 4″ biscuit cutter the original writer mentions at a little over 3″. Because of this, I got about 20 pie crust rounds instead of the 12-14 in the original recipe. I thought these were plenty big enough for a snack and making them smaller lowers the calorie count of each to about 140 calories which isn’t TERRIBLE for a classic, heavy fall dessert.

applehandpies_1

Also, because my rounds were smaller, I couldn’t fit as much filling in each – I used approximately heaping 1 tsp. as opposed to 1 tbsp. Again, I felt like this was plenty and the filling spreads out in the pie nicely during baking – all of my pies were filled side-to-side and top-to-bottom once cooled.

applehandpies_2

In order to not lose any additional crust, I pinched my edges with a fork rather than folding them over. Then, poked three slanted lines in the top of each (full disclosure: I forgot the vent holes on my second batch – they still came out fine!)

applehandpies_3

The baking time in this recipe is pretty spot on and my pies were a perfect golden brown in about 17-18 minutes.

applehandpies_4

The glazing of these is the messiest part but it is doable and a quick process once you get the hang of it. I used a shallow bowl and 2 forks to glaze – I dropped the pies in, flipped them around with the forks, and then lifted them out and let the excess glaze drop off before putting them back on the sheet.

applehandpies_6

The centers of these are hard to see in the photo but they turn into a delicious, caramel like filling and taste exactly like a traditional apple pie – with less calories than a slice, less work to assemble, and less baking time!

applehandpies_5

These are INCREDIBLE warm and still totally delicious cold! The family has already devoured two batches (40 pies!) in less than 2 weeks so I am sure I will be making another batch before my apples run out.

Happy pinning!

 

Leave a Reply

