Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

I am BACK IN THE KITCHEN after a long and frustrating flare up of my colitis. I didn’t cook or bake for months so it is so nice to be able to enjoy food again.

And I am SO BEYOND EXCITED to share this recipe for skinny double chocolate chip muffins with you – it is one of the best I have found in awhile!

These muffins are fairly skinny (174 calories each for my slightly edited version) and pack a TON of chocolate flavor – they truly do not taste skinny or low fat at all and I keep calling them brownies by accident! In addition, they are super rich a moist and have the exact muffin texture you would be looking for. You also get a really decent sized muffin so you don’t feel deprived at all!

I followed the recipe pretty closely with these two exceptions: 1) I only used all-purpose flour and did not split half all-purpose and half whole wheat; and 2) I used original apple sauce instead of unsweetened. The next time I make them I will definitely try they with the unsweetened but I had a HUGE jar of original already opened so I just couldn’t justify buying more apple sauce when it isn’t something we eat a lot anyway. The recipe also gives an option for the egg – you can have 1 whole egg or 2 egg whites – I went with the egg whites. My changes up the calorie count slightly – the original recipe says they are 165 though I did not confirm that by entering the ingredients in MyFitnessPal.

muffins_1

In addition to the great taste these are super simple and take no time at all to whip up. I have made two batches in as many weeks. The whole family loves them – I can’t keep them in the house!

muffins_3

One commenter does mention that the muffins have a slightly rubbery texture out of the oven. I found this to be true for the skinny banana muffins I’ve written about before. I did not try these out of the oven; I have only eaten them once they were fully cooled and/or chilled so I can’t confirm if that is true or not. The texture once cooled though is spot on!

muffins_4

These also keep really well. I haven’t kept them room temperature – once they are cool I put them right in an air tight container in the fridge and the one sad muffin I had left from my first batch definitely kept moist for at least a week.

muffins_5

 

I am so, so happy I decided to try these and know they are going to be a staple in our house. I highly recommend them and hope you enjoy if you try them out! If you do, let me know how it goes in the comments!

Happy pinning!

 

 

Leave a Reply

