Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake

I’ve been on a chocolate kick lately and when I came across this chocolate mousse cheesecake it seemed like the perfect option for an Easter dessert (in addition to these imitation cosmic brownies!)

This is not one of the clearest recipes I have come across on Pinterest but the end result was delicious so let me fill in some of the blanks for you.

The first thing you’ll probably notice in this recipe is that the photo in the recipe shows a slice of cheesecake that clearly has a crust. However, the recipe never mentions making the crust…at all… To remedy that I used this oreo crust recipe. I used ONLY the crust portion which is essentially to crush Oreos (I did this in the food processor) and melt butter – mix them together and press into the bottom of your pan.

The next thing you might notice is the line that reads, “After 1 hour, carefully pull the roast pan/springform pan setup out of the oven, lift the springform pan out of the roaster—be careful, there WILL be some hot water in the aluminum foil—remove the foil.” And you’re like, “Huh? Where did this aluminum foil come from? Nowhere before this does it reference any aluminum foil?” I dug through the recesses of my brain to try to piece this together and what I recalled was previously (though not every time) wrapping the base of the springform pan when making cheesecake in a water bath to ensure no water seeps through the bottom of the pan. This isn’t 100% necessary as a good springform pan shouldn’t leak but I figured I may as well stick to the recipe. I didn’t have a roaster so I used my deep frying pan that would fit the springform pan comfortably. This is how I assumed the recipe wanted things set up…

chocmoussecheese1

At this point the recipe gets a little clearer – you can just follow the rest of the steps in the “For the cheesecake” section pretty closely. Some notes are that:

  • It says you can use heavy cream, sour cream, or a combination – I used all heavy cream.
  • I had to add more water half way through baking and when the cheesecake was first done (pre-wooden spoon in the oven door) as the water was evaporating.
  • I baked my cheesecake for 1 hour and 30 minutes but it never browned. It was definitely done so if you have reached the top limit for the time and it is still not browned TURN THE OVEN OFF to avoid over-baking – your cheesecake should be done.
chocmoussecheese2

Not browned but looking good!

I let the cheesecake come to room temperature, wrapped it right in the springform pan, and chilled overnight before adding the mousse. However, I did make the mousse the same day as the cheesecake base – I just kept it in a separate bowl covered with plastic wrap in the fridge.

Speaking of the mousse, this is the step that will make you want to pull out your hair. There are so many steps it will seem like you can’t possible do them all at one time. And you can’t – just juggle the best you can. At one point I had the chocolate melting over my simmering water, my stand-mixer beating the cream, and me with the hand-mixer beating the egg whites – YOU WILL GET THROUGH IT. It was also at this point that I realized these egg whites were never going to be cooked (at least the yolks went in the hot chocolate) and raw eggs is generally something I try to avoid but I was too far in at this point.

For the mousse, I used semi-sweet Baker’s chocolate and the same dark instant coffee as I used in the cosmic brownies in place of the espresso powder. While I didn’t like the extra intensity of adding the “espresso” in the brownies, I LOVED it in the mousse so highly recommend it for this recipe. I wrapped my mousse bowl tight and kept it in the fridge overnight.

chocmoussecheese3

Cheesecake and mousse almost ready for ganache after chilling over night

If you’ve made it this far, CONGRATS! The hard part is over and you are close to the finish. All that is left is the ganache and that is the easiest part of this recipe. I had missed the “bitter-sweet” portion when I skimmed the recipe to make my shopping list so I ended up using the rest of the Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate that I had bought for the ganache. This didn’t hurt it in anyway, especially since I added the “espresso” powder also, but I do think it would be delicious with bitter-sweet as the recipe calls for. I also followed the original author and used vanilla extract instead of rum. I definitely didn’t have any leftover ganache to use for decorations – I poured it all on there so it dripped down the sides.

As much as a painful journey as this was to make the end product was AMAZING. The oreo crust gives it just the right bite , the cheesecake itself is super soft and smooth, and the mousse is just yummy. I WILL make this again but it won’t be often!

chocmoussecheese8

 

Leave a Reply

