Copycat Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies

Do you all remember Little Debbie cosmic brownies? Those really dense, chewy brownies from your childhood that were topped with ganache and little chocolate candies? They were one of my favorite snacks growing up, and still are one of my 20-something-year-old younger brother’s favorites, so when I came across this recipe I was pretty excited to try it.

I made these for Easter recently, which was actually my second time making them. I had made them for my 27th birthday but was having so much fun that I forgot to take pictures! So, when my brother requested them as an Easter dessert, I was happy to get another opportunity to document them for you. It’s not that these are hard to make that kept me from making them for almost a year but they are just so dense, dark, and rich (and delicious!) that they aren’t something I would just casually make to have as a snack in the house – these are definitely OCCASION brownies.

The recipe for these is pretty simple and clear so I just followed along. The first time I made them I did not use the optional “espresso granules” but the second time I did. (Actually, I could not find instant espresso anywhere in my local grocery so I used instant packets of the darkest roast I could find…)

cosmic1

Batter layer ready for the oven

Honestly, I preferred the brownies without the additional “espresso” powder. These are already so intense and dark that the chocolate flavor didn’t really need to be intensified at all.

cosmic2

Topped with ganache

I LIKE that the ganache for this recipe is super simple. I DON’T like that I need to hunt down mini M&M’s which is one of those things that I feel like are everywhere until you actually need them. My local grocery didn’t have these either so I picked up a few tubes at CVS instead – I used two large tubes to cover the whole brownie.

Really, there is not much more to say about these other than they are delicious and require you to plan the rest of your meal accordingly. You can tell how dense they are in the below photo – super yummy, but super heavy!

cosmic5

 

 

One thought on “Copycat Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake | The Girl Who Pinned Everything...

Leave a Reply

