Two-Two Easy Peach Cobbler

Hello and happy August! I am so excited to share this post with you about this easy peach cobbler recipe I found recently as it is definitely being added to my “most successful Pinterest recipes” list. All that fresh fruit in the market has been calling my name this summer. So much so, that I tend to buy more than I will eat. This happened just last week when I ended up with half the peaches I bought starting to go soft before I could eat them. I hate to throw fresh ingredients away so I was so happy I remembered I had found this recipe not too long ago.

Now, what scared me about this recipe was all the butter and sugar. SO, I used the recipe more as a “guide” for proportion and not an exact recipe. I ended up turning it from two-two-two to one-one-one of everything. I used four fresh peaches, peeled, and sliced. I am not sure how many ounces this is but I believe, on average, a medium peach is about 4 oz. so I probably had a total of around 16 oz.

I then used 1 stick of butter, 1 cup of sugar, 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of almond milk, and 1 tsp. baking powder. I needed to bake for longer than the recipes states to get my crust golden. I think I baked mine for a little over an hour.

O. M. G.

So delicious!

peach1

I baked mine in a pie plate. The four fresh peaches were plenty to do a full layer on the bottom of the plate with some left over to double-up in areas.

Cutting the other ingredients in half still made more than enough topping. My crust was about 1/2 inch thick on the whole cobbler.

peach3_edited-1

The ends get deliciously crispy. And, I can’t explain how since there is no vanilla in the recipe, but the crust has a delicious vanilla flavor.

I could have done with even less butter as the butter flavor was still very strong. I  might try 3/4 of a stick next time. I was happy however, that all the butter didn’t make it greasy at all.

This kept nicely for almost a week in the fridge. Re-heat the slices for 30 seconds and it is like it just came out of the oven!

I topped mine with some whipped cream.

peach4_edited-1

I didn’t calculate the calories for the original recipe but I did for my pared down version. If you cut my version of the cobbler into 8 slices it is 192 calories per slice. If you want to really be good and cut it into 12 slices it is 128 calories per slice.

This is such a great way to enjoy the summer fruit while it lasts and a fairly “healthy” and not too sweet dessert. I will definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

