Low-Cal Banana Muffins

Summer is coming (at least I think it is?) which means back to healthier eating habits! It was a long winter of comfort meals but as the weather has started getting warmer we have started picking up more fruit when we go shopping. My husband and I both love bananas but we can’t always eat as many as we buy before they start turning brown so I went on the hunt for a lower-calorie banana baked good so that we can stay on track. I came across these low-cal banana muffins on Pinterest. The recipe itself is from the Biggest Loser.

These muffins were so easy to prepare – I think the batter only took me 10 minutes to get together BY HAND (as in without the help of my trusty stand-mixer!) I did make a few changes in order to use only what I had in the house and not have to make a shopping trip.

The changes I made were: I used regular all-purpose flour since we don’t buy wheat flour, I used almond milk in place of the buttermilk and/or skim milk & lemon as we stopped buying traditional milk and only use almond milk, I only used 3 bananas instead of 4 since I only had 3, and I added 1/4 cup of my husband’s oat & honey granola for crunch.

Using 1/4 cup measuring cup I separated out the batter and actually got 15 muffins instead of 12 which makes each 119 calories (according the My Fitness Pal) even with my changes.

I baked them for about 25 minutes. I was impressed with how much they rose in the oven – part of me was expecting flat little discs for some reason.

muffins

Taste-wise these are pretty good. The banana flavor was a little light but had I used the 4th banana I am sure this would have not been an issue. My one complaint about them is that they are a little rubbery/chewy – definitely not the rich banana bread texture you’d get with the full-fat option and honestly not even a close second. I would also like them with some walnuts instead of the granola (which was my original plan but I guess I used the bag I thought I had!) I would make these again since, at the end of the day, they are a fast and pretty tasty low-cal snack!

muffins_2

UPDATE: The texture was much better once they cooled completely! Still not the banana bread texture you are used to but much less chewy. I also sliced one in half and warmed it over the toaster the following day – added a little butter and it was delicious!

10 thoughts on “Low-Cal Banana Muffins

  1. Pingback: Brunch Spread with Hashbrown Cups and Sausage Biscuit Bake | The Girl Who Pinned Everything...

  2. Guaranteed the texture was messed up because you didn’t follow the recipe. If you had used buttermilk, you would have had muffins with a more normal texture.

    • Bobby! You’re back! Can’t believe you are still reading since you hate the way I cook! So happy to hear from you – I missed your critical eye and judgmental take. In this case, you make an excellent point. However, I made them again using the alternative given of skim milk with lemon juice (They give it in the recipe so it is still following the recipe! You must be so proud!) and the texture was the same. The next time I make them I’ll try the buttermilk and report back (though I have colitis and am not supposed to cook with a lot of dairy hence the almond milk but anything for you!)

  3. Pingback: Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins | The Girl Who Pinned Everything...

Leave a Reply

