Prosciutto and Provolone Wrapped Chicken

Hello everyone and happy Tuesday! I’m going away from Pinterest again this week (sorry!) because I want to share what I made for dinner last night – prosciutto and provolone wrapped chicken breast! This was my first time making this. I came up with it as a way to use prosciutto I had purchased for a different dish and never used. The sliced prosciutto had been sitting in our freezer for a while now and I really wanted to get rid of it. This was such a big hit with my husband and I that I thought it was worth a share.

The chicken is really simple. I seasoned the breasts with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and cooked them in a tablespoon of butter over medium heat until they were 3/4 of the way cooked – about 5 minutes per side. Then I topped each breast with a 1/2 slice of provolone and wrapped in 2 thin slices of prosciutto. I placed them seam-side down in a baking dish that I coated with cooking spray. Then, I baked them in a 400-degree oven for about 30 minutes to finish cooking the chicken and crisp the prosciutto. That’s it!

proscuitto_3

I served the chicken with parmesan rice and garlic sautéed baby spinach. The whole meal with 1 chicken breast, 1/4 cup spinach and 1 cup rice was only 556 calories! Each chicken breast alone is about 225 calories according to the MyFitnessPal app.

proscuitto_2

I have a few extra pieces of prosciutto so I will definitely be making this again soon! If you try this out for yourself let me know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

