Ricotta and Spinach Stuffed Calzone

My, my has it been awhile or what?? As can be assumed things got CRAZY leading up to the wedding and I just could not find the time to post. Since the wedding (almost 5 months already?!?) almost EVERYTHING I have made in my brand spanking new kitchen has been from Pinterest so I was overwhelmed with the volume of things I had to blog about and thus was paralyzed by the decision of what to choose! I apologize, my friends, and promise to make more of an effort going forward.

Now that that is out of the way what better way to kick this into gear again than with something I just made this weekend, right? Enter this ricotta and spinach stuffed calzone. I was excited when I came across this recipe because it is from King Arthur Flour. After our honeymoon in St. Lucia in June (pics for your enjoyment below!) we didn’t have enough vacation time to take another big vacation this year but we still wanted to get away a little bit before the end of the summer. We decided on Norwich, VT for a mini vacation which happens to be where King Arthur Flour is located. We had jam-packed our schedule so much that we didn’t have time to stop by King Arthur but we heard wonderful things about their baked goods and their cooking classes.


wed4

wed2

wed3

wed1hm2 hm1

hm3


I decided to make this calzone for my Maid of Honor’s 27th birthday BBQ. I followed the instructions for the dough exactly. I also followed the recipe for the filling pretty closely with the exceptions that I substituted ground black pepper for the nutmeg and marinated the spinach with about 3 tablespoons of minced garlic. For my topping on the crust I used: olive oil, grated parmesan, garlic powder and mozzarella.

cal2

cal3

cal1

cal4

I thought all my additions would really pack this with flavor but I have to say I was disappointed. The crust came out fine in terms of consistency but I felt the dish overall lacked flavor. I also didn’t like the amount of parmesan in the filling. I used as much as the recipe said but I thought this amount made the filling too dry and crumbly.

This was just an OK recipe and I probably wouldn’t make it again. My mom’s is much better so I will get her recipe for next time!

Do you have a go-to calzone recipe you like to whip up for parties? Have you been to King Arthur Flour? Let  me know in the comments!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

