French Silk Brownie Pie

The holidays mean one thing for me – baking season (well…food season in general!) but it is hard to get oven time in our kitchen on a holiday so I tried to come up with a no-bake-needed yet still delicious option for this year (especially since I made the stuffed cheese buns I made last Christmas – they were such a hit! New holiday staple!) I browsed my Save Room for Dessert board and found this french silk brownie pie that looked delicious.

I chose this because it made me nostalgic for one of my favorite chocolate silk pies that we used to have at the holidays when I was younger. We don’t get them anymore and I have been trying to find a replacement for years (remember last year when I tried this chocolate truffle pie?) While I liked last year’s pie I wanted to try another – let’s not get boring!

French Silk Pie

Image

I followed the recipe exactly (shock! @Bobby Walsh would have loved that!) EXCEPT I made my own whipped cream from scratch and I used chocolate sprinkles on top instead of chocolate shavings. I also made a whole pie instead of tarts like the recipe mentions (the pie in the original post doesn’t look like a tart to me?) The recipe was correct in that if you want to make a whole pie (I used a 9″ spring form pan) you should make a double batch of filling. One batch of brownie batter is the perfect amount for a whole pie so use the whole thing!

I liked this pie as did my family. Warning: it is very, very rich so start your slices small! The only thing I didn’t like was the use of raw eggs. I know it’s fine and there are raw eggs in lots of things but it made me uneasy. Still delicious though!

The brownie crust really makes it since it stays really soft and gooey. I did need to bake my brownie slightly longer than the recipe recommends – about 20 to 25 minutes to get it to set.

French Silk Pie Slice

Image

I need some inspiration of what to make for Christmas (hopefully lots of posts coming soon!) so if you have seen a great pin on Pinterest lately that you’d like me to try let me know in the comments!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

