Mac and Cheese Soup

Hello! Welcome back! Sorry I have been away from you all for so long but things have been CRAZY busy. On top of the wedding planning we started shopping for a house thinking it would take us at least a few months to find a place. Well, it only took a month! We closed last week and have been slowly moving things in. So with the wedding, the new house, and now the holidays approaching I haven’t had much time to get in the kitchen. Hopefully that will change now that I will have my own kitchen!

I did recently get to try out a recipe that I have had my eye on for awhile now however. With the cold weather upon us it seemed like the perfect time to make this mac and cheese soup.

Look at how yummy it looks…

mac&cheesesoup

It was good and it hit the spot for a cold night but it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.

First, let me tell you the tweaks I made (as usual.) I clearly didn’t do the tomato and baguette thing (didn’t have any but would have been delicious.) Instead I made homemade pita chips by cutting two whole pita breads into triangles, sprinkling with sea salt, pepper and garlic powder and baking the same way the recipe said to bake the baguette. I also left out the shallots and carrots (also didn’t have any.)

I followed the rest of the recipe as is.

Overall, I liked the soup but it was definitely more soup-y than mac-and-cheese-y. I would have liked a thicker broth – a light cheese sauce could have been great.

I also thought it was definitely missing a textural element – the whole dish itself was very soft and other than the pasta there wasn’t much too it. I know I left out the shallots and carrots but I don’t know if they would have helped much since the celery pretty much disappeared. Next time I would definitely have the carrots and probably wouldn’t soften the celery and instead just let the warm soup soften it – cooking it before made it too soft. The crunch of the pita chips did offset the softness of the soup nicely though so I would definitely recommend making something crunchy to go on the side or, if you follow the recipe and use the baguette, make plenty of extra toasted baguette rounds.

Though I wasn’t blown away, the simplicity of the dish and the quick prep time would probably lead me to make it again.

Do you have a go-to cold night soup recipe? Let me know in the comments!

Happy pinning!

2 thoughts on “Mac and Cheese Soup

  1. I commend you for trying but this looks vile. Anyone who cooks knows you can’t “tweak” a recipe the first time you make something. To be fair, however, no ingredient could have saved this dish. It looks like throw up.

    • Thanks for the comment Bobby – and the education! I didn’t know that home cooks experimenting in the kitchen couldn’t make tweaks the first time they tried a recipe – so many hard and fast rules I have to learn! I think my reply to your other comment might clear things up for you….this clearly isn’t the blog for you. Good luck finding something more to your well-refined tastes!…

      …Though you did keep reading and commenting on more than one post (strange?)

Leave a Reply

