Canastitas Caprese “Open-faced Empanadas with Tomato, Basil and Mozzarella”

I’m glad to say that out of the three appetizers and one dessert that I made my bridesmaids for our get together the only one I was disappointed in was the avocado eggrolls. These open-faced caprese empanadas were great.

I found some frozen empanada shells in the frozen foods section at my local supermarket (I would love to try to make them from scratch next time!) and thawed them out while I prepared my other ingredients. I needed about 8 oz. of mozzarella not 6 (surprise I know.) You need the block of mozzarella that is usually sold near the bags of shredded cheese for this and not a fresh mozzarella ball. I also used about 6 cherry tomatoes as I didn’t have any larger tomatoes in the house.

The recipe is actually quite simple – you just chop up your ingredients, put them in the cups and bake! I used a muffin tin prepped with cooking spray to make sure the cups held their shape and they popped right out when they were done.

I really enjoyed these overall. I was surprised that there was not more seasoning called for in the recipe and I did think they could have used a little something more to brighten them up a bit but I definitely enjoyed them.

The empanda shells were a cross between a wonton wrapper and a puff pastry – both things I think could be interesting to try with this recipe in the future. The concept of these is also a good base recipe that you could add different supporting ingredients to to make new and exciting flavor combinations.

Do you have any flavor combinations that you think would be great in these? Let me know in the comments!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

