Garlic Parmesan Knots

In addition to all the cookie baking I did for the holidays I also wanted to contribute to the main meal. Since my mom had the main course covered I thought I would provide some unique sides. We have never been a family to serve rolls with dinner (I’ve always been jealous of those families on the crescent roll commercials) so I knew if I could come up with something delicious I could secure my own shining star status of Christmas dinner.

To come up with something delicious I turned to my “Shining Sides and Snacks” Pinterest board. I found two great rolls that I wanted to try. The first were these garlic parmesan knots.

Garlic parmesan knots (surprisingly given my heritage) have never had a huge place in my life. It was one of those products (like the crescent roll) that I always wanted but never had. The first time I ever had garlic knots was after college when I was visiting one of my friends in NY and I LOVED them so when I found this recipe on Pinterest I couldn’t wait to try to make my own.

I followed the recipe and instructions for these exactly with the exception of I used plain old table salt instead of kosher salt.

Garlic Parmesan Knots

Garlic Parmesan Knots

Overall, these were just OK for me. My family loved them but they weren’t like the rolls I was dreaming of. The texture inside was great – using the canned biscuits is a great, easy choice and gives them a nice texture. However, the topping was too dry for me I think they would have been better topped with some additional melted butter after they were removed from the oven…the butter the recipe tells you to add does make the rolls golden but after baking for another 10-12 mintues the butter is dry once the rolls are removed from the oven. 

I also think I would have preferred some minced garlic on top for the garlic flavor instead of the dry garlic powder.

The third thing I didn’t like too much was that since the parmesan on top was so dry it was VERY salty (and I LOVE parmesan) so I would cut down on it next time or try the melted butter over it to cut the intense salty flavor but since my family enjoyed them I guess that is all that matters.

Do you have any unique bread or roll recipes? Share them in the comments!

Happy pinning!

One thought on “Garlic Parmesan Knots

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Cheese Buns | The Girl Who Pinned Everything...

Leave a Reply

