Chocolate Truffle Pie

Story. When I was a kid my dad would get all of our holiday pies from a company that came to his office. He would place his order and the day before Thanksgiving and Christmas they would deliver the pies to his office and we would all enjoy them during our feast. My favorite every year was a chocolate silk pie. The problem? My dad left that company when I was in middle school and couldn’t remember the name of the pie company. For years we have looked for a suitable replacement and while some have come close none were quite the same. I had nearly lost hope when I came across this recipe during one of my daily Pinterest perusal. The picture looked remarkably close to the pie I loved as a child so I just had to try it.

I followed the recipe as closely as I could but some of it was difficult. Firstly, because there are no times listed in the recipe…about how long should I heat the cream before it is considered a simmer? About how long should I beat the cream before it is supposed to be thickening (i.e. how long will it take me to know I did something wrong?!?) Some timing hints would have been helpful.

Rather than using 6 oz of chocolate chips wherever it was called for I used 8 oz firstly because 8 oz is a cup and is easier to measure and because who doesn’t love a little extra chocolate? The first place I did this was for the truffle filling which was surprisingly easy to make. After completing this step I thought making this pie was going to be a piece of cake (haha). I was wrong…

The next step was to make the whipped chocolate filling which proved much more difficult. Firstly, I am always afraid of melting chocolate in a double boiler…some how I always seem to mess it up and end up with lumpy chocolate. I was happy that I didn’t this time and the tip of using just a 1/2 cup of cream to thin down the chocolate and melt it evenly is something I will keep in mind for future baking endeavors. However, I wish the rest of this step went as easily. The first pitfall was that I had trouble getting the cream to thicken no matter which speed I put my stand mixer on. It would have been helpful if I knew what thickened cream looked like but again there was no description. Without knowing if my cream was thick or not I added my chocolate mixture…and beat for about 10 minutes with no thicken action noticeable. I started to panic. But I gathered myself and had the sense to put the whole bowl in the refrigerator for a while. I let the mixture chill for about 20 – 30 minutes while I worked on another project and when I removed the bowl and started to whisk again it started to thicken right away. Crisis averted.

I made the whipped cream topping at the same time as the rest of the pie but I waited until the next day to put it on. I added vanilla to the whipped cream topping because I make whipped cream from scratch all the time and that is the recipe I follow – I think it gives the cream a nice rounded flavor.

For the garnish I used whole bittersweet chocolate chips. I thought about chopping them but with the likelihood that pieces of chocolate could fly off the table with a dog running around the house decided against it and shaving chocolate chips on a grater seemed like a lot of potentially painful effort. I think the whole chips gave the pie an even more delicious look if I do say so myself…

Finished Truffle Pie

Image

This pie will definitely be a hit with any chocolate lover in your family. And it was extremely close to the pie I was trying to recreate. The only changes I would make next time (to get the pie closer to the one I was trying to duplicate – really it came out great by following the recipe) is to use a regular pie crust instead of a graham cracker crust. The pie I was seeking used a regular pie crust and regular pie crust tends to be a little thicker than a graham cracker crust and I love crust. I would also beat the whipped chocolate filling (once it actually starts to thicken) a little less…the pie I was trying to repeat had a softer filling than I ended up with here. But overall I was very pleased with how this turned out and will definitely be making it again!

Truffle Pie Slice

Image

If you have any great pie recipes you would like to share leave them in the comments!

Happy pinning!

One thought on “Chocolate Truffle Pie

  1. Pingback: French Silk Brownie Pie | The Girl Who Pinned Everything...

Leave a Reply

