Peanut Butter Fudge Pie

OK everyone, its been a few weeks but I’m back – and just in time for Thanksgiving and the rest of the holiday season! I love to cook and bake and can’t wait for the day that I get to create my own, complete Thanksgiving feast…my parents still prepare the entirety of our Thanksgiving table. However, I like to contribute and usually do so with a creative side or a new dessert. This year is no different and one of the desserts I decided to try this year is this peanut butter fudge pie.

One of the reasons that I chose this pie is that my younger brother loves anything chocolate and peanut butter and since he was going to be home from college for the holiday I thought I would make him something special. Another reason? It just looked delicious and was outside the traditional pumpkin, apple, pecan pie line-up that is common for Thanksgiving. I also am not a huge traditional pie lover and this seemed closer to an ice cream or frozen dessert since it is served chilled which I do like.

The recipe is fairly easy to follow and prepare. It only took me about 25 minutes from start to finish. I didn’t make any tweaks to the recipe but I did tweak the final step. I knew I wouldn’t have enough of the frozen whipped topping left over to cover the whole top of the pie so instead  I put what I had left in a piping bag and made a design on top. Also, rather than putting the remaining hot fudge and peanut butter in the piping bags and decorating each slice individually (who has time for this when they are entertaining?), I melted the remaining peanut butter in the microwave (on high for 25 seconds at a time, stirring in between until liquid) and drizzled the peanut butter over the entire top of the pie. I didn’t use the remaining hot fudge because I really wanted the pie to be about the peanut butter and the top layer of fudge seemed really thick.

Finished pie

Image

This pie was definitely a huge hit with my family. Since I chose to freeze my pie overnight before serving it was very similar to the frozen Reese’s ice cream cakes they sell in the super market. The peanut butter flavor is very strong and the cream cheese is a nice complement.

Pie Slice

Next time I think I would make a few changes. I would definitely use fresh, homemade whipped cream. I always make whipped cream from scratch but since this was my first time trying this recipe I wanted to stick to the instructions. I don’t see any reason why fresh whipped cream couldn’t be used – it seemed like the frozen whipped topping was only recommended for convenience.

Also, I would maybe coat the pie crust with some of the hot fudge next time both to use all of the hot fudge and to ensure the pie crust stays fresh if made in advance. I only made the pie a day in advance and froze it over night so my crust was fine but I think this could be an option if you need to make it at least a few days in advance.

Do you have an out of the box pie recipe that you like to use during the holidays? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

