Tomato Cheddar Soup

Well, I didn’t think I would have a post so soon but with the cold and rainy Fall that seems to have hit Boston all of a sudden I was craving some serious, warm, comfort food. I came across this recipe from “More Fruit Please…” on Pinterest the other day and it sounded delicious.

I am not a big fan of plain tomato soup but I LOVE tomato bisque (probably because of the fattening cream) and my favorite is from the Yardhouse in Dedham, MA. Unfortunately, a lot of other people also love the Yardhouse and the wait is almost always at least an hour or more. Since I didn’t want to wait that long for dinner on a cold Thursday night AND I’m trying to eat healthier, I thought I would try this recipe! It is a cross between a soup (it comes out very loose) and a bisque (because of the Greek yogurt used in place of the cream).

Overall, this recipe was a hit! It is very simple and the soup doesn’t take long to make…it took me about 20 minutes. I did tweak the recipe a little. I couldn’t find any vegetable broth in my local supermarket so I used chicken instead. I also cut the amount of basil and oregano in half because I’m not a huge fan of either herb. I also used reduced fat sharp yellow cheddar…the recipe doesn’t specify if you should use regular or reduced fat so I went with reduced fat to keep the calories lower. According to the original post of the recipe, one serving is only 222 calories!

Overall, the soup was good. I didn’t puree it, I kept it chunky as my boyfriend prefers it that way. I did think it was a little watery so the next time I would either drain one of the cans of tomatoes first or add a little more yogurt to thicken it some more. I did also think the flavor could have been kicked up just a notch and would maybe add half a can of tomato paste next time to up the flavor.

The recipe says it should make 6 servings. I was unsure what a serving of this actually is as the recipe doesn’t specify. My boyfriend and I had 2 bowls (2 ladles each) each and there was still the equivalent of at least another 4 bowls left over.

I would say this soup was a hit and I will definitely be making it again but with a few tweaks next time. I served it with a cheddar cheese garnish and a grilled cheese on the side. For the grilled cheese I used two slices of Weight Watchers wheat bread with a little margarine on the outside. Inside I put 1/3 cup of shredded reduced fat Colby Jack cheese. I put the meal into the My Fitness Pal app and the whole meal came out to under 500 calories (assuming I actually had only 1 serving of the soup…who knows??) which isn’t bad for a usually heavy winter meal.

Below is what mine looked like:

Image

What about you? Do you like tomato soup? Have you tried this recipe or do you have a different one that you prefer? What tweaks to this recipe would you make? Do you have an even healthier version? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

